Utah

Utah puts two dollar lines in one subsection, and they do different jobs. Below $7,000 in contracted value, labor and materials together, alteration and repair work is exempt from contractor licensing. But above $3,000 in total project value, that same person must file a one-time affirmation with the state that they carry public liability insurance and workers' compensation. Between the two figures you get insurance without a license.

Checked Sep 2026

Nexstep Medical Detox

Rehab Centers
·
Orem
  • Medical Detox
  • Alcohol Detox
  • Opiate Detox
  • Benzodiazepine Detox
  • +2 more
0.0
No reviews yet

What it costs

ServiceTypical
Auto repair shop labor rateUtah average$135 per hour
Attorney hourly rateUtah average$250 per hour

Ranges last checked September 2026. They come down automatically when they are due to be rechecked.

Auto repair shop labor rate

What moves the price

  • Utah averages about $135 an hour against a national figure of about $132
  • Dealerships sit at the top of the range; independents below it
  • Shops staffed with certified or master technicians charge for it
  • State averages sit either side of that national figure rather than clustering on it

Usually included

  • Diagnostic and repair labor only

Quoted separately

  • Parts
  • Shop supplies and disposal fees
  • Diagnostic time, which some shops bill separately and some credit against the repair

Attorney hourly rate

What moves the price

  • Utah averages about $250 an hour across practice areas
  • Experience moves it further than geography does: 20 to 30 years of practice averages $511 to $606, under four years $182 to $212
  • Specialized practice areas sit at the top
  • Case complexity, particularly multiple parties or jurisdictions

Usually included

  • Attorney time

Quoted separately

  • Court filing fees
  • Expert witnesses
  • Deposition and transcript costs
  • Paralegal and administrative time where billed separately
How do we know these prices?

Every figure above comes from a named source we can link to, with the date we last checked it. We publish ranges rather than single prices because a range is what a provider will actually give you: the same job moves with what is being worked on, the materials, how hard it is to get at and how busy the trade is locally. Treat these as the order of magnitude to expect before you call, not as a quote.

Where a source publishes figures state by state, this page shows the figure for this state rather than a national average. Where no state-level source exists, it shows the national range and the local factors that move a job within it. We do not scale a national number by a multiplier of our own invention.

Every range carries a review date. When that date passes the number comes down until it is rechecked, rather than sitting here undated.

What Utah changes

Two thresholds, four thousand dollars apart

Utah Code section 58-55-305(1)(h)(i) exempts from contractor licensure a person doing alteration, repair, remodelling, addition or improvement work on a building where the contracted or agreed value is less than seven thousand dollars, including both labor and materials.

Sitting inside the same exemption, at subsection (1)(h)(ii)(H), is a second and lower figure. Where the total project value exceeds three thousand dollars, that person must file a one-time affirmation with the Division of Professional Licensing that they carry public liability insurance and, where applicable, workers' compensation coverage.

The band between the two is the interesting part. A five thousand dollar bathroom refit can lawfully be done by an unlicensed person in Utah, but that person is supposed to have told the state, once, that they are insured. It is a lighter obligation than a license and a heavier one than nothing, and it is the thing to ask about on a job in that range.

One caution on the citation. Chapter 55 is mid-recodification: several neighboring sections are marked repealed or renumbered with effect from 1 January 2027, and replacement sections carry the same date. The figures above are current. The section number may not survive that date, so anyone reading this later should check the numbering rather than assume it.

Emissions in five counties

The Division of Motor Vehicles states that vehicle emissions inspections are required in Cache, Davis, Salt Lake, Utah and Weber counties. Elsewhere in the state there is no emissions requirement.

Each of those counties sets its own vehicle-age and test-frequency rules by ordinance, and this page does not state them, because they were not read at the county source. The county list is the part that is verified.

What things cost here

The table above carries the two Utah figures with a per-state source: shop labor for auto repair, and attorney time. Shop labor runs a little above the national figure. Attorney time sits close to the national median. In the five inspection counties there is a test to budget for that the rest of the state does not have.

How to choose a provider in Utah

Price the job before you ask about the credential, because here the price decides which credential applies. Seven thousand dollars and three thousand dollars are the two numbers, and they are not the same number.

On work between three and seven thousand dollars, ask whether the affirmation of insurance has been filed with the Division. It is a one-time filing, so the answer is either yes with a date, or no.

Above seven thousand dollars, ask for the license and verify it with the Division rather than from a card. The exemption stops applying and the question changes shape.

If your vehicle is registered in Cache, Davis, Salt Lake, Utah or Weber county, ask a shop how the work affects the inspection before it is done rather than after.

Questions to ask any provider here

  • What is the contracted value of this job, labor and materials together?
  • Does it cross seven thousand dollars, and if so what is your Utah contractor license number?
  • Does it cross three thousand dollars, and have you filed the affirmation of insurance with the Division?
  • Who is your public liability insurer, and can they confirm cover directly?
  • Do you carry workers' compensation for everyone who will be on site?
  • What is the payment schedule, and what is due before work starts?
  • If my vehicle is registered in an inspection county, does this repair affect the emissions test?

Common questions

When does Utah require a contractor license for repair work?

Utah Code section 58-55-305(1)(h)(i) exempts alteration, repair, remodelling, addition or improvement work with a contracted or agreed value of less than $7,000, including both labor and materials.

What is the $3,000 figure for?

Under section 58-55-305(1)(h)(ii)(H), where the total project value exceeds $3,000 the person must file a one-time affirmation with the Division of Professional Licensing that they carry public liability insurance and, where applicable, workers' compensation.

So can an unlicensed person do a $5,000 job?

On the face of the exemption, yes, subject to the other conditions in it. But at that value the affirmation of insurance is required, so ask whether it has been filed.

Which Utah counties require an emissions test?

Cache, Davis, Salt Lake, Utah and Weber, according to the Division of Motor Vehicles. Elsewhere in the state there is no emissions requirement.

How often is the test, and which vehicles are exempt?

Each county sets its own vehicle-age and frequency rules by ordinance. This page does not state them, because they were not read at the county source.

Will these section numbers still be right next year?

Possibly not. Chapter 55 is mid-recodification, with neighboring sections marked repealed or renumbered from 1 January 2027. The figures are current; check the numbering after that date.

Browse by service in Utah

Browse by city